Recipe: Spiced Molasses Cookies

17 Dec

Raise your hand if you conveniently have all the ingredients to make molasses cookies in your kitchen right now…Okay, I just happened to have everything I needed to bake these delicious delights–really! I used a recipe I found through Pinterest from blogger The Tasty Gardener. Her recipe seemed very straight forward, the only thing I did differently was combine it all in my Kitchen Aid mixer.

Molasses Cookies Kitchen Aid Mixer

Love this Kitchen Aid mixer, received it as a wedding gift!

So here is the recipe:

Spiced Molasses Cookies by The Tasty Gardener

Ingredients
  • 2¼ cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp cloves
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¾ cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • white sugar for coating
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl combine the flour, baking soda and spices.
  3. In another bowl cream the butter then beat in the brown sugar, eggs, molasses and vanilla.
  4. Mix in the flour until soft dough has formed.
  5. Roll dough into 1″ balls and coat in white sugar.
  6. Place on prepared pans, press with fork and bake until browned 6-8 mins.
  7. Let cool on wire racks.

Mine turned out great! Mixing it all in the Kitchen Aid mixer made things super easy. I baked the first batch for 7 minutes then tried 8 minutes and found 7:30 to be just right. The cookies were soft coming out of the oven so I removed them from the baking sheet and let them cool. As they cool down they start to harden–but they don’t get rock solid. They are soft and chewy and so good! So glad I came across this recipe, perfect for holiday baking and it makes the house smell so nice.

Molasses Cookies Rolled Into 1 Inch Balls

These are 1 inch balls (or as close to 1 inch as I could eyeball) rolled in white sugar

Molasses Cookies Pressed with Fork

Placed on the baking sheet with a gentle push from a fork

Molasses Cookies Baking

Who doesn’t like to peek at the oven while something is baking?

Molasses Cookies Cooling

Here are the cookies fresh out of the oven. I lifted the parchment paper off the baking sheet to let it cool on the counter for a minute before placing on the cooling rack. You can see some of the white sugar got clumped on some cookies. Just makes it a little sweeter!

Molasses Cookies on Cooling Rack

Cooled off and ready for enjoyment! Some of the fork marks stayed, some didn’t but it doesn’t matter to me!

What are your favorite baked goods around the holidays?

Monique is Blog Signature

3 Responses to “Recipe: Spiced Molasses Cookies”

  1. The Tasty Gardener (@TastyGardener) December 17, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    This look great! I’m glad you had success with them. They are a favorite of my co workers 🙂

  2. feedmedearlyJessica Fiorillo December 20, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    I can’t raise my hand for having all the ingredients but I can raise my hand and say “yum, I want one”/ Thanks for sharing the recipe. Wishing you and yours a very Happy Holiday!

Leave a Reply

