Plugged In

19 Nov

How much of the day are you plugged in? Do you consciously set aside offline time, or does it happen whenever it happens?

Since my job as an Associate Social Media Manager requires me to be constantly connected and aware I am ALWAYS “plugged in.” That means I am always online. Thanks to HootSuite my web browser window holds streams for each brand I manage with all of their social media accounts up at all times. I’m checking Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest and Vine all day long Monday through Friday.

It’s my job to grow our audience and raise awareness of our products. I need to be plugged in or else I am not doing my job. I map it all out in my editorial calendar, gather images, take photos, request images from our designers, information, articles then compile it into the content I create. This content must be timely, seasonal, interesting, compelling. I need to know when something is trending on YouTube. I need to think about how I can possibly tie in our brands with a trending hashtag on Twitter. I’m perusing Pinterest for ideas, peeking at competitors social pages, reading mommy blogs, watching YouTube reviews of our products.

Heck yes I’m plugged in!

Even when I’m at home, signed out of all work accounts I still get push notifications from Instagram each time someone likes or comments on one of my brand’s photos. Since I generally stay signed into my work Instagram accounts during work hours when I get home I use that time to catch up on my personal Instagram feed. I want to see what my friends and family are posting!

I do find that I usually do not use the computer when I’m at home. Since my iPhone keeps me connected I really don’t feel interested or compelled to hop on the computer. I even stay on social media when I’m on vacation. I like using FourSquare, Instagram and Twitter to document my travels. Not so much to “show off” to the world but to keep track of where I went.

Monique is Blog Signature

 

Leave a Reply

