Bad Habits

15 Nov

If you could quit one bad habit instantly without difficulty, which would it be?

No human is absolutely perfect, we all have bad habits we’d like to break. A bad habit I would like to break is touching my hair. It’s a weird thing that I do subconsciously and I’m not completely sure when it manifested.

Sometimes I catch myself at my desk twisting a piece of hair from the back of my head. Or my bangs. Tugging the strands, sliding my fingers through. Finding odd bits that are textured instead of smooth. Then I realize what I’m doing and try to occupy my right hand in a different way.

When I’m vegging out in front of the TV, or reading a book or even driving alone I find myself doing this. It’s so weird! I think I do it out of boredom or to occupy my hands, a strange way of fidgeting. Sometimes I run my fingers through my bangs when I’m trying to fall asleep. If I wear my hair tied up in a bun or pony tail I rarely touch my hair. If I wear it down it’s a sure thing that I’ll catch myself in the act.

I would like to break this habit because for one I think it’s strange. Second, I think if someone walked past me and caught a view of me twisting my hair they might get the wrong impression that I’m a ditz. Another reason to stop this odd habit is I don’t think it’s very good for my hair. My hair is think and healthy but I’m sure constant touching, twisting and tugging is not helpful. So if I woke up tomorrow and simply just didn’t touch my hair like that anymore, without any difficulty, that would be amazing.

Ok there–I confessed something odd and personal! Do you have a bad or strange habit you’d like to break?

Monique is Blog Signature

One Response to “Bad Habits”

  1. Sian November 19, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    Thank you for sharing this! Hmm, I think my bad habit would be stress eating. If I have a particularly bad day then I go straight for the junk food! I would love to be able to stay focused and eat healthy on a bad day, not just the good days.

Leave a Reply

