Bridesmaid Gift DIY: Votive Candle Holder

11 Oct

The thank you gifts I put together for my bridesmaids included three pieces. Although the items they received were similar I made sure to give each special attention to make the gifts as unique as possible. I posted earlier about the MiA Bath and Body products I customized for them here, they received a full set of bath products with a custom fragrance designed specially for each individual.

I thought a great addition to that would be a nice candle holder to light when they are getting their beautification and relaxation on! Just like when I created our Memorial Candle Holder I used my Martha Stewart glass etching cream and adhesive stencils. The glass etching process is really simple. Clean the glass, stick the stencil where you like it, dab on a generous amount of cream, let sit 15 minutes and rinse off the cream with hot water. Peel off the stencil, dry the glass with a towel (I used paper towels to avoid lint) and you’re done!

glass etching votive

Each votive holder had their first initial and a Fleur-de-lis design on either side. I included a vanilla scented candle.

Finished product.

Finished product.

Another view of the votive holders. There were 5 total but since three of my girls have "J" names I left those out. You get the idea right?

Another view of the votive holders. There were 5 total but since three of my girls have “J” names I left those out. You get the idea right?

I really wanted the gifts to be special so I even created custom packaging for the votive holders. I bought gift boxes, labels, ribbon and scrap booking flowers from Michael’s to create a custom gift box for each bridesmaid.

Each bridesmaid had a different flower on top of their box.

Each bridesmaid had a different flower on top of her box.

A bit of ribbon tied around the box and a nice label with their name printed finished off the packaging. Simple, but it came from the heart.

A bit of ribbon tied around the box and a nice label with their name printed finished off the packaging. Simple, but it came from the heart.

I included a special handwritten thank you note for each bridesmaid. I needed to express my love and gratitude in words as well!

I included a special handwritten thank you note for each bridesmaid. I needed to express my love and gratitude in words as well!

There is one more item I included in their gift bags, that post will be coming soon! Here’s a photo of all my bridesmaids posing with us at the wedding. Aren’t they all gorgeous ladies? Each unique and beautiful!

Love these girls so much! From left to right: Jessica (sister-in-law), Jaclynn (bestie since middle school), Marina (older sister), Jessica (younger sister) and Arlissa (friends for several years now, we have a great bond!)

Love these girls so much! From left to right: Jessica (sister-in-law), Jaclynn (bestie since middle school), Marina (older sister), Jessica (younger sister) and Arlissa (friends for several years now, we have a great bond!) Thank you girls for everything you did for the wedding and to encourage our relationship over the years. You each are so special to me! (click photo to enlarge)

Now you tell me, what is a unique gift you’ve given or received? Doesn’t have to be wedding related!

Monique is Blog Signature

 

Leave a Reply

