Bridal Body Update 2

1 Jul

Something finally clicked. It started in April. I started making salads for lunch and taking my dog for long walks. She needed to lose weight and I needed to lose weight. Then the Tone It Up Bikini Series started so I began following the workouts and changed my eating habits even more. I set my alarm an hour earlier and I workout in the morning now. At night I hit the gym to spend some time sweating on the elliptical.

Guess what. My jeans fit again! Not only do they button, but they don’t squeeze me and I can wear them buttoned ALL day without feeling pain! Even after lunch! That might sound crazy to some people but my jeans not buttoning and causing me pain is an issue I dealt with for over a year.

I didn’t see results right away. It was around the two month mark that I started being able to button again. Now we’re in July and my jeans are fitting me just fine.

So, what’s my big secret? It’s not much of a secret. It’s eating clean and working out at least 1 hour 4-5 days a week. Eating clean means staying away from high processed pre-packaged foods. I’ve known about clean eating for a long time but finally I just decided it’s time to make a change.

This video by Cassey Ho of Blogilates gives a good explanation of what clean eating is all about.

Reading the Tone It Up and Blogilates blogs have really helped educate me about living a healthier way. I still use My Fitness Pal occasionally to track my eating. Not to track calories so much but to track that I’m getting all of my vitamins/minerals/nutrients each day and not overdoing any one nutrient. Especially fiber, I was overdoing the fiber for a while and that was unpleasant!

I drink almond milk instead of regular milk. I eat protein pancakes, shakes and bars as my pre and post workout fuel. I try my best to prepare lunches ahead of time. My snacks are fruits, veggies, nuts, greek yogurt with granola. I started drinking green tea regularly. I’m staying away from white carbs like white bread, pasta, tortillas and rice. I eat multi grain bread, quinoa and brown rice now. When I make tacos I use lettuce leaves instead of tortillas. I’m not topping all my foods with cheese all the time. I eat lean proteins like chicken, eggs and beans.

This is what meal prep looks like. Cooked some chicken and quinoa with peas. Put some veggies and fruits on snack sized containers. Stuck it all in the fridge to easily grab and go each day!

This is what meal prep looks like. Cooked some chicken and quinoa with peas. Put some veggies and fruits on snack sized containers. Stuck it all in the fridge to easily grab and go each day!

This doesn’t mean I don’t eat yummy delicious pizza and authentic Mexican tacos anymore. I still go to Yogurtland and load up on the sprinkles and chocolate syrup. I just do that a lot less these days. When I do indulge in a delicious juicy cheeseburger it makes it that much more enjoyable.

I don’t feel bad about indulging because I workout too! I never deprive myself. I eat three main meals and about three snacks each day. I drink lots of water and I never had a soda drinking issue before so I continue to just avoid sodas. I’m not always looking at the scale anymore. My jeans are my scale now.

An example of clean eating snacks. No more munching on chips or highly sweetened cereal bars!

An example of clean eating snacks. No more munching on chips or highly sweetened cereal bars!

I will continue on this path because I feel better and look better. When my sisters and fiance are paying me compliments (unprompted!) I KNOW something is working! They are always honest with me and only give me compliments when it is 100% genuine. When I met up with a friend I only see occasionally last month she even noticed some changes on my body! On my wedding day I’m going to feel very confident and I will be starting my marriage on a healthy track.

An example of a clean eating dinner I make for my future hubby. Grilled chicken and veggies. Flavorful, filling and healthy for us.

An example of a clean eating dinner I make for my future hubby. Grilled chicken and veggies. Flavorful, filling and healthy for us.

Monique is Blog Signature

2 Responses to “Bridal Body Update 2”

  1. Alyssa Curran July 1, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    So proud of you! It is HARD to make changes like this and you’re rocking it! You will be a beautiful bride no matter what, but now your confidence will help you glow even more. Can’t wait to see you walk the aisle… I’m going to be crying!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013 Reflection | moniqueis - December 31, 2013

    […] I spent most of my year planning our August wedding, you can see some of the planning details here. I made fitness a priority by cooking healthy meals at home, preparing lunches and snacks, and hitting the gym several times a week. It helped improve my fitness level and confidence on my wedding day–read more about that here. […]

Leave a Reply

