Something I Miss

12 Mar

Something I miss is my old apartment. Just the other day Kyle verbalized it too. We both miss our comfortable apartment with the perfect amount of space for two people and two pets. Our patio where we barbequed with the shade of tall pine trees. Sometimes a few friends would come over and we’d enjoy drinks on the patio couch. I miss having enough room to entertain more than one guest at a time.

We painted one wall wine red in the living room. I felt like it gave our TV set up a movie theater feel. My decorations were purchased to go specifically on certain pieces of furniture or certain parts of the apartment. We had a laundry room. Washer and dryer in unit–a renter’s dream!Β  A walk-in closet in the spacious bedroom–a dream for the clothing and shoe fans out there! We even had a storage closet outside.

There was a door leading to the bedroom that you could close if you needed quiet time. Unlike our current loft apartment where the only doors in existence lead outside or to the bathroom. So now when Kyle is studying I have to be quiet. He can’t shut himself away in the room to do his work while I enjoy noisy activities like listening to music, watching TV or playing video games.

I miss the pool, a big clean sparkly pool. With plenty of lounge chairs and tables. Kyle’s sister and nephew would come over and we’d play in the pool for hours. Sometimes friends would come over and we’d hang out and enjoy the sun.

I miss the gym. It was small but included the basics, no need for a gym membership.

I miss the neighborhood. Clean, open, natural, trees. I miss walking my dog to the park and passing the green golf course. Spotting a fox in the bushes and ducks on the pond. Jogging up and down the safe quiet street.

I miss the mountain view and the fresh air. I miss hiking the trail at the end of the road. It went up the mountain and felt like you were in the middle of wilderness with no sight of human existence around you.

What I miss most of all is feeling like I finally found a place to call home. I’ve been moving around so much since age 18 and never really felt at home anywhere. I felt detached, like I didn’t have an anchor to come “home” to anymore. I don’t have a childhood home to go back to–we were booted by my mom’s ex from our childhood home, after living there for just over 10 years. Today my mom doesn’t have a “home” for me to go to if I need it. Now I feel like I’m back to that old unconnected, floating feeling.

It really was the perfect little space for us but we made the decision to move closer to school and work. We really are saving a lot of money, Kyle never even drives anymore. The university is just a few minutes across the street! I think I can safely say I am not a city girl. I don’t even live in the “big city” part of LA but I still don’t like this amount of “bigness” that I’m surrounded by right now. Sometimes I still get sad and miss my old apartment, the old lifestyle we had while living there. I know our current situation is for the best and very short term. As soon as Kyle finishes his B.S. we’re on the move again, we just don’t know where to next!

31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-adMonique is Blog Signature

5 Responses to “Something I Miss”

  1. Alyssa C. (@LyssaCurran) March 12, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Awwww. I can tell how homesick you are! 😦 Sometimes you just end up being in a sucky apartment for awhile. My husband and I hated this one apartment we had on Vanowen street in Lake Balboa, and by the time one year rolled around we were OUTTA THERE and into our cute little darby house we’re in now, and have been for a happy 3.5 years πŸ™‚ So hold the faith, the right home is waiting for you, it just takes time to get there. πŸ™‚

  2. Laura Greene March 12, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I know EXACTLY what you mean. My apartment was the same way. I remember the day I walked through the front door to view it. I looked at my roommate and said “We’re home!” There hasn’t been a moment go by that I don’t miss everything about it. I feel your pain, sister.

  3. salromero March 12, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Hang Tough, Lil Miss It’ll Get Better…..Really πŸ˜‰

  4. April March 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Sometimes weathering the mundane will reap you big rewards in the future. But it’s nice to KNOW what you want to go back to! πŸ™‚ I bet it’ll be bigger and better!

    Thanks for the visit!

  5. Tami @ Mixed Media Life March 12, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    I think I know how you feel. After three years in this great little apartment with a huge deck, breeze ways, sparkling pool, gym and neighbours that bring me food when my husband is on the road… we are moving. I just know I’m going to miss it too.

Leave a Reply

