Favorite Quote

2 Mar

Today’s prompt is to share my favorite quote or quotes. I don’t really have a specific favorite quote but something that I was recently reminded of is that I love the little rant Edward James Olmos goes on in Selena about how it’s hard being Mexican-American.

“Being Mexican-American is tough. Anglos jump all over you if you don’t speak English perfectly. Mexicans jump all over you if you don’t speak Spanish perfectly. We got to be twice as perfect as anybody else.

And we got to prove to the Mexicans how Mexican we are and we got to prove to the Americans how American we are. We got to be more Mexican than the Mexicans and more American than the Americans.

Movie clip here.

This is something I can totally relate to because I experienced being bullied and shamed by other Mexican-Americans for not being “Mexican enough” because I don’t speak fluent Spanish. I don’t understand why they feel the need to belittle me because of this. I can still understand it fairly well so when they start talking amongst themselves in Spanish about my lack of Spanish speaking skills I say, “Oh but I can still understand you.” They promptly zip their lip and go away. Just because I don’t speak that language doesn’t mean I don’t love other aspects of the culture. I just don’t understand why they get so judgmental over language! I’ve had more issues with other Mexican-Americans about my ethnicity than any other group!

The only problem I’ve had with non-MA’s is people assuming that I DO speak Spanish fluently because of how look. See how this gets frustrating? Everyone wants me to speak Spanish! Once I sat next to a light-skinned MA person and was asked specifically if I speak Spanish. I said, “No but she does!” They didn’t even think to ask her because she doesn’t look like what you would stereotypically picture when you think of Mexicans. In fact she is first generation American and I am third generation–WTF?

Don’t judge a book by its cover. That’s a good quote to end this post with!

31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-ad

Monique is Blog Signature

 

 

2 Responses to “Favorite Quote”

  1. salromero March 2, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    NIce One, Muy Bueno (Big Smile)

  2. kyle March 2, 2013 at 11:41 am #

    I don’t speak Spanish either and my English is horrible. I don’t often get bullied because of it though, only when people find out I’m half Latino.

Leave a Reply

