Why Blog?

21 Dec

I went to a blogger holiday party earlier this week hosted by Social Media Club Los Angeles. A panel of bloggers spoke and one of the questions/answers stood out to me, “Should everyone blog?” One of the panelists said something along the lines of if you want to vent your feelings, get a journal. Also, the same panelist said, “IfΒ  you don’t have an opinion then shut the F up.” I agree with this person, and that is the reason why I don’t post very frequently. Many weeks go by where I feel I don’t have anything worth writing about and I would just be polluting the internet with boring posts about topics people don’t care about.

Going to this event really opened my eyes to the bigger blogger community. So many blogs have a specific subject or theme and I heard many bloggers throwing out their blog “catchphrase.” Some people were there to offer services and seemed very aggressive about it–one man asked me how I monetize my blog. I think he was digging to see if I was worth talking to, and I felt uncomfortable. I’m not here to make money, I started this blog because I wanted to share some funny stories. It evolved into more of a lifestyle type of blog and eventually I’d like to focus more on travel writing. For now I just write as I see fit and I’m not trying to climb the blogger notoriety ladder. I don’t have a catchphrase and I don’t have a specific theme or topic. I’ll write when I feel I have something worthwhile to say.

Another reason why I blog is to keep my writing sharp and to give myself a writing refresher. I maintain a daily blog for a toy brand at work and I manage multiple toy line’s social media accounts. I’m constantly thinking and writing in the specific brand voice. Keeping up my own personal blog is a way to mentally push all those little dolly voices out of my head and get into my own space. I’m here trying to craft and develop MY voice. Otherwise my writing flexibility and adaptability might get stuck in Toy Land!

What is your opinion on blogging? SHOULD everyone blog? If you blog, why do you do it?

Monique is Blog Signature

One Response to “Why Blog?”

  1. organizedisland December 22, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I blog because I want to share tips and recipes that have helped me raise two kids and enjoy life. I think if someone has something to share that others can benefit from – they should! Happy Holidays πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

