Adjusting

12 Oct

Two weeks passed since moving  and I’ve settled into my new apartment. I’m slowly adjusting to my new neighborhood. The first three days here I cried.

After moving all day in scorching Los Angeles Valley heat while going up and down stairs we were wiped out. My sister, brother-in-law and a friend helped us. Once they left, I felt like all the boxes and things stacked up filling up space were overwhelming and crowding me.  I immediately felt panic and regret. I NEEDED all the furniture in its proper place but the boxes and stuff were in my way. I wanted a semblance of normalcy. I started pushing the couches and tables through the sea of cardboard–moving things this way and that way Tetris style until furniture fit where it should. I pushed myself further and carried boxes to their correct areas. Kitchen boxes in the kitchen, bathroom boxes in the bathroom and so on.

This probably how my family and friends felt while helping us move!
Source: http://pinterest.com/pin/278097345711336887/

After pushing myself all day and night I finally broke down and started sobbing. Like a big cry baby. I don’t want to live here. It’s too small. We have too much stuff. This place is ugly. The valley sucks. This sucks. I hate LA. It’s too hot. I want to go home…I don’t really have a home…wah, wah, wah…

Kyle got me to calm down and I rested. Sure enough, as soon as I woke up the next day I needed to finish what I started. Putting things in place, breaking down boxes and getting rid of junk. Later, I had an issue with finding parking (s0meone was in our assigned parking) and I am terrible at parallel parking so that caused another break down.

On day three we ran into more parking issues after work and I accidentally scraped my car against the side wall of the apartment complex. More crying. More hating the Valley. More regret.

It is going to take some time but I will get used to this new life. I don’t know what is in our future, where our careers will take us or what will happen next. I know this is temporary and we are saving lots of money in rent and gas (especially with gas prices sky rocketing suddenly). The savings will help pay for our wedding and go to our future home. I also know that I have Kyle by my side and we are in this together.

Source: sailboatsandseashells.tumblr.com

5 Responses to “Adjusting”

  1. Alyssa @ DoubleChinDiary.com October 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Chin up… a move is ALWAYS hard! I promise in a couple weeks things will start lookin’ up – and if not, all that extra money can afford you at least one lil shopping trip for some retail therapy, right?! 🙂 ❤

  2. Kyle Abrahamsen October 12, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Keep looking forward! Remember that I will be here with you so you wont be alone! :-*

  3. kjpugs October 23, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Ohhh I hear you. I cried A LOT for the first month or two after we moved and a lot before too. It’s so stressful!!! Hang in there, I know from experience (and 3 moves to different states) that it does get better… it just sucks in the process, haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 Reflection « moniqueis - December 31, 2012

    […] moved to a new place and I needed some help seeing the positives and adjusting. I also got my braces removed! After a life time of insecurity and a $2000 investment in […]

  2. Moved Again | moniqueis - August 26, 2013

    […] Anyway, just updating on that, since I made such a big deal about moving to the Valley in the first place! […]

Leave a Reply

