Monique Is Exploring: Ventura Harbor Night Life

16 Sep

A few weeks ago my fiance planned a wonderful night out for my birthday. It included dinner at The Greek at the Harbor in Ventura followed by a comedy show at The Ventura Harbor Comedy Club. We ended that night in downtown Ventura for a few birthday drinks. My sisters and friends came out to join the fun.

It was our first time going to both the restaurant and comedy club. One of my favorite types of food is Greek and The Greek at the Harbor did not disappoint! We started with an Mezze Platter, an appetizer plate full of hummus, pita bread, olives, falafel, spanakopita (spinach and phyllo) and other tasty treats.

One of my friends ordered a bottle of Greek red wine that we thoroughly enjoyed. I’m not a wine expert so all I can say is that it was smooth and delicious. I ordered the Vegeterian Moussaka. It was a perfect portion and tasted amazing! The service was great and the view breath taking. We sat in the patio area over looking the harbor. We watched the sun sink under the horizon as it silhouetted the boats in the harbor.
Not only did we enjoy a delicious meal but a belly dancer did her thing–although it didn’t look like legit skilled belly dancing. Either way, she was entertaining, made us laugh. The real talent came when one of the men did this crazy looking table feat! He stacked tables using only his teeth–it looked cool!

After all that ended we walked over to the Ventura Harbor Comedy Club and caught the tail end of a show. The place was packed but they found seating for us. We saw maybe 30-40 minutes of the show. I definitely want to go back soon to get the full experience.

My sisters and I hanging out at The Good Bar.

We then left the harbor to downtown Ventura and hit up some of our favorite bars Dargan’s (an Irish pub) and The Good Bar. Dargan’s is a great place to go with plenty of seating and juke box. It’s usually a starting point for most outings with my friends. The Good Bar usually hosts a live band and serves great drinks. The bar is covered in pennies and there’s always a line for the restroom. They just added a chalkboard wall by the bathroom so people can doodle as they wait–a nice touch.

All in all it was a great birthday and I had a wonderful time exploring places in Ventura that I never visited before.

 

______________________________________

One Response to “Monique Is Exploring: Ventura Harbor Night Life”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 Reflection « moniqueis - December 31, 2012

    […] I turned 25 this year, and thoroughly look forward to another 25+ years ahead of me that will surely be grander than the first 25 years! You can read about my birthday outing here. […]

Leave a Reply

