Southern Wedding

7 Jun

The reason why I traveled out to Georgia, Tennessee and South Carolina this month is because Kyle’s cousin, Gretchen, got married. I snapped a few photos with my iPhone to share with you some wedding inspiration. This sweet southern wedding took place in Brentwood, TN at the Cool Springs House. This is located in the Nashville area. The hot humid weather did not deter the guests from enjoying such a beautiful location and celebrating the union of a very happy couple.

Take a look at these photos and feel free to pin on Pinterest!

After we signed the guest book and placed our gifts and cards at the table this sign led us to the ceremony and reception location. Isn’t this precious?

Hydrangeas, Irises and other spring flowers were contained in hanging mason jars along the aisle.

Here is a full view of the aisle. That building is an old barn (and at one time a distillery) adorned with a wreath of Magnolia Tree leaves hydrangeas and other spring flowers.

This is Kyle’s beautiful cousin Meredith, one of the bridesmaids. I apologize that I caught an image of  her blinking but I was so caught up in the moment I just snapped a quick sneaky pic! But check out that pretty light blue (periwinkle kind of) dress, wonderful yellow bouquet and lovely hair style!

This is the stunning bride, Gretchen, and her father walking down the aisle. She is so on-trend with her stylish bird cage veil! Her dress was a halter with long flowing layers. Perfect for the hot day and theme of the wedding. Again I need to mention those pretty spring flowers!

I had to get a shot of the foot wear! The bridesmaids were super cute in there brown cowboy boots. That’s pretty southern, right?

CAKE. YUM. That’s all I need to say.

The refreshment table which we all frequented many times contained glass dispensers full of Sangria, wine and tea. They also served lemonade and beer. We drank out of mason jars and quirky blue and yellow paper straws. Loved it!

The mason jar lids did not go to waste–they used them as hanging picture frames around the dance floor tent! Creative, fun and smart! I took these at night so the lighting is not very good. The top right says “Love”. I’m not sure what the entire quote is on the bottom left. The bottom right is their beloved dog!

So there you have it–a true southern wedding! It was fun and I truly enjoyed myself. The food was excellent and if I’m not mistaken the groom’s mom is a professional caterer so she played a big role in creating the meal. This whole trip was a great opportunity to meet my soon-to-be family and every person I met was very welcoming and made me feel right at home. Best wishes to the bride and groom!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

6 Responses to “Southern Wedding”

  1. Mary Ann James June 26, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    Monique, I love the article and you captured everything so perfect! Thank you very much. The sign with Gretchen & Jeremiah’s name on the 1st pic was made by Tina Doores, a good friend of mine, who decorated for us and did an outstanding job! The fan was made by Heather Mordecai, sister of the bride who is very creative also and made the save the dates, & the invitations as well..loved them!! The wood sign was made by Amanda Smith, good friend of the Bride, who also made another sign and they were such a special touch. The flowers were made by cousin of the groom Megan Jordan, who is the owner of “Social Graces” florist in Chattanooga, TN…she does such a beautiful job! The food was done by myself (Mom of the groom) my sisters, Jeannie & Helen (who also help me in my catering business) my catering buddy Susan Johnson, who staffed the reception for us and did a great job. I had a niece Colleen Curran also set up the fruit & vegetable display because she has a talent for making it look delicious!! Carol (Mom of the bride) also cut and sewed all the burlap table runners and made pillows for the ring bearers. This was a wedding where friends & family all came together and made it such a fun & fantastic day for Gretchen & Jeremiah. A wedding that was talked about for weeks…comments such as “the most fun” “the prettiest” “so heartfelt” “just beautiful”….Thanks to everyone who shared in the day with us, and thank you for this post….I love it!!!! So nice meeting you too!!

    • Mary Ann James June 26, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Oh….I left out one very important detail…..The brides hair, & makeup were done by sister of the groom, Morgan James, who works for Parlour 3 in Brentwood, Tennessee. She is extremely talented, and is also my daughter!!!

      • Mary Ann James June 26, 2012 at 10:43 am #

        Gosh….the mason jar frames were also done by Morgan James…she is very crafty as well…this is all…I think!!

    • moniqueis June 26, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Thank you for reading and thank you for all the details! So much love and care was put into this by the family and it shows! I’m very glad to meet so many sides of this family and I’m very excited to plan my wedding soon. Take care!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monique Is Exploring: CNN Atlanta and World of Coca-Cola « moniqueis - June 12, 2012

    […] enjoying a beautiful Southern Wedding  and a quick tour of Nashville from my best friend’s younger brother we went back to Georgia […]

  2. 2012 Reflection « moniqueis - December 31, 2012

    […] my future extended family-in-law and attended a true blue southern wedding! Read about the wedding here and my adventures around the Southern states can be found […]

Leave a Reply

