Devil Comes Out at Night…

29 Oct

The three of us sisters used to do mini slumber parties in the living room. Jessica and I shared a room and Marina had her own room so doing our own version of a slumber party was always great fun. We would bring all our blankets and pillows out and giggle the night away. Marina would mostly keep us laughing with jokes and stories.

One night Jessica and I were particularly rowdy and Marina really wanted to start the slumbering portion of our slumber party. She decided the best way to get us snoozing was to scare us quiet.

“Did you know the devil comes out after ten? He comes out to find people who are still awake and he takes them away,” she said. She probably also backed it up with an anecdote that her grandma or one of her aunts from her dad’s side told her about a bad child in Mexico that stayed up past 10 p.m. For some reason she always had some great stories from Mexico that her family on her dad’s side only knew about.

I glanced at the clock the digital red numbers glowed 9:55 p.m. I only had five minutes to fall asleep. My sisters were quietly fast asleep. I could not get my mind to stop thinking about the scary devil. I just could not sleep! I squeezed my eyes and slowed my breathing. It was 10 p.m. I needed to be asleep. I tried my very best to feign sleep as my mind was on high alert.

The devil touched my toe as he brushed right past me. Inside my mind I was screaming but I kept calm and continued to seem asleep.  I must have done a good job acting because he left me alone and went on to find people awake past ten.

________

Looking back, I’m pretty sure it was one of our cats that walked past me and touched my toe with it’s tail.  Marina was so good at just making up these types of stories on the fly and we always believed her.  Also, I now know that the devil does NOT come out at 10 p.m. looking for people to steal. I never go to bed before 10 p.m. these days 🙂

Happy Halloween everyone!

Happy Halloween! Don't let the devil catch you out past 10...

Leave a Reply

