Waking Up

29 Jan

 I am such a terrible morning person. Even as a kid I wouldn’t want to get out of bed. I would wait until the very last-minute before dragging myself out of bed and throwing myself together in 15 minutes. I still do that toady. Except I try to spend 30 minutes making myself look decent these days. I figure adult women should spend a little more time messing with their hair or something. I feel so bad for my boyfriend, he has to listen to the alarm go off four different times because of my excessive use of the snooze button. He sometimes tries to gently encourage me out of bed.

Poor guy, I always end up snarling at him. “Leave me alone!!,” I’ll growl or “eergh…go away!” sometimes I’ll tell him, “Stop telling me what to do!” I understand he is just trying to be helpful and doesn’t want me to be late for work. I just am not a morning person. Once I arrive at work it takes me about an hour for my brain to wake up and my eyes to open all the way.

What used to work for me was my mom’s technique for getting my lazy ass out of bed. It worked magnificently and I don’t know why I fell for it every time. Here is how the mornings would go sometimes in middle school/high school years:

Jessica would have been up one whole hour before me. She needed the extra time to do normal girl stuff. Pick the right outfit, do her hair, put on some make-up. She would play music and the sun would be shining all over her. I would just stay cocooned in my blankets on my top bunk, with maybe a cat snuggling with me. As the time passed my mom would pop in and say, “Time to get up” or “You’re gonna be late”. I would roll over and grumble. Finally she came up with an ingenious way of getting me up!

“Get up get up! You slept in! It’s already 7:30!”

Knowing that school started at 8 and I had to walk to there; my body would spring into action. I would immediately leap off the top bunk and land on the ground, suddenly having cat-like reflexes! I would rush to the bathroom and get myself together as fast as I could. I was always in such a rush that I never noticed the real time. When I slowed down enough for my brain to catch up with my body I saw that it was only 6:45 or 7. I had been duped! The horrible part is that I always fell for this trick!

Later when I was a working adult with a full-time job, my mom, sisters and I had our own apartment. I was 19 or 20 and my mom still had to pull out that trick to get me out of bed to get to my job on time. She did it less frequently as I became a little more responsible. Yet it still worked every time!

Today I’m slightly older and I would describe myself as a big kid. I watch Disney channel and play video games all weekend long. I do my homework and still have trouble getting out of bed. I have an alarm clock next to my side of the bed and a sweet boyfriend that tries so hard to nicely get me out of bed and off to work.  Poor guy.

3 Responses to “Waking Up”

  1. Sal Romero January 29, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Another Nice One, Keep Them Coming!

  2. jaclynn blankenship February 1, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    i have 3 wonderful alarm clocks….. they have names too!! damion, dylan, and now shyanne!!! lol

    • moniqueis February 1, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      I guess when you have a family to take care of there is no choice. When they’re up you’re up! That’s why I need to put off baby making for a while, I need to grow up a little more first!!

Leave a Reply

